The Ivy (Los Angeles)

I’ll be upfront with all you lovely readers – I was attracted to The Ivy because of its stake in the celeb world, rather than its menu’s reputation. Perhaps I could meet Kourtney Kardashian there and become her new best friend! After all, there was a Kardashian onesie store right across the road. But let’s get back to my night at The Ivy

'The Ivy' by night.

‘The Ivy’ by night.

After being warmly welcomed to our seats by the wait staff, the four of us (N, my sis, and her boy Vic) began to marvel at all the beautiful rustic decor and the gorgeous fresh flowers on our table. Well, when I say ‘we’ I mean my sis and I – the boys kept telling us to stop taking photos!

Beautiful fresh flowers add to the warm atmosphere.

Beautiful fresh flowers add to the warm atmosphere.

I perused the menu for a long time before finally deciding on the lobster club sandwich with freshly cut french fries. With a $35.75 price tag, I was hoping for something extra special!

The beautiful Christmas tree, still shining brightly.

The beautiful Christmas tree, still shining brightly.

As we sipped on promptly delivered cocktails, my sis and I became ‘snappy happy’ and took photos of all the knick knacks and decorations around the restaurant.

Brightly coloured cocktails.

Brightly coloured cocktails.

So much pretty crockery.

So much pretty crockery.

From yet another angle!

From yet another angle!

It wasn’t too long before the meals arrived. The serving sizes were large (what else would you expect in America?), but I must admit I was a little disappointed. It was strange eating a club in which the lobster was stone cold but the rest of the sandwich was warm. The lobster itself, however, was really delicious so I ate it separately!

The monstrous lobster club. I couldn't eat it all!

The monstrous lobster club. I couldn’t eat it all!

Our waiter then offered us the dessert menu. Without hesitation, we accepted and became hungry all over again as we read phrases such as ‘Fresh Key Lime Pie’, ‘Ricky’s Triple-Layer Chocolate Cake a La Mode’, and ‘Apple Blackberry Crumble with Homemade Tahitian Vanilla Gelato’. Pure poetry. I decided on the ‘Creme Brulee’ and let me say every mouthful was heaven. I was so full but I kept shovelling it down my throat as the flavour was one of the best I have ever tried!

My delicious creme brulee – which ‘cracked’ on top and was music to my ears!

I must say the desserts were far more impressive than the main courses. Here is what the rest of the crew ordered…

Vic's banana split - so much food that you can't even see the banana. And yes, that side dish is various toppings for this mind-boggling dessert!

Vic’s banana split – so much food that you can’t even see the banana. And yes, that side dish is various toppings for this mind-boggling dessert!

The profiteroles with homemade pistachio, caramel and praline gelato (yes it's inside).

My sis’ profiteroles with homemade pistachio, caramel and praline gelato (yes it’s inside).

Told you it was inside!

Told you it was inside!

The famous 'Ivy' sundae.

N’s famous ‘Ivy’ sundae.

All desserts were served with The Ivy’s homemade cookies. I must say they were well-baked, even if my stomach was about to explode as I nibbled on one!

If you’re lucky enough to visit LA, why not visit The Ivy. You may be luckier than me and see a celeb!

Details
The Ivy
Where: 113 N Robertson Blvd, Los Angeles, CA
When: Brunch, lunch and dinner
Cost: From $12.75
Website: Click here!
Yum rating: 4/5

The Ivy on Urbanspoon
-FR17

Leave a Reply

